West Africa – UEMOA At a Glance

Historical Background

UEMOA was established on January 10, 1994, in Dakar, with the primary objective of constructing a harmonized and integrated economic space in West Africa. This space ensures total freedom of movement of people, capital, goods, services, and factors of production, as well as the right of exercise and establishment for citizens throughout the community territory.

Membership and Reach

UEMOA consists of eight West African countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte D’Ivoire, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal, and Togo. These member states are unified by the use of a common currency, the FCFA, and common cultural traditions. The union covers an area of 3,506,126 km² and has a population of approximately 120.2 million inhabitants.

Core Activities and Values

UEMOA aims to promote economic integration and development within its member states. This includes the use of a common currency and harmonized business laws, as well as initiatives to increase financial inclusion and economic growth within the region.

Governance Structure

Not available.

Membership Benefits and Services

Not available.

Professional Development Program

Not available.

Supporting Future Finance Professionals

Not available.

The International CFO Alliance (ICFOA) is a non-profit organization, classified as an “1901 association law“ entity, and is officially registered in France. It was established as a legal entity in 2023 and is recognized by the Directorate of Legal and Administrative Information (DILA). This status underscores our commitment to operating as a non-profit, dedicated to serving the interests of our members and the CFO profession globally.

Office for correspondence:

13 Rue Paul Valéry, 75116 Paris, France
Telephone: +27(0)12 643 1800

Email: office@cfo-alliance.org

Privacy Policy  | Terms and Conditions

Shopping Cart